Should Missouri copy Illinois’ new “Mandatory Paid Leave” Law?
Illinois just become the third state in the US to create a mandatory paid leave law, now all eyes are on states like Missouri to see if they will follow, should they? Here is what you need to know...
According to an article on WGEM from the Associated Press, Illinois has a new law requiring employers to have paid leave for workers for any reason the worker needs it. In the article they say...
"Starting Jan. 1, Illinois employers must offer workers paid time off based on hours worked, with no need to explain the reason for their absence as long as they provide notice in accordance with reasonable employer standards...Illinois employees will accrue one hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked up to 40 hours total, although the employer may offer more. Employees can start using the time once they have worked for 90 days. Seasonal workers will be exempt, as will federal employees or college students who work non-full-time, temporary jobs for their university."
There is a lot to unpack there... and for the full article on WGEM just click here!
So next year in Illinois if you are working for a company for more than 3 months you will earn at least 40 hours of paid leave no matter the circumstances. My immediate thought is this is a win for those serves out there who have a sick kid, or need a mental health day, but can't afford to miss hours on their paychecks, this law will allow them to miss work without missing the pay.
Will Missouri and other states follow the lead of Illinois, Nevada, and Maine? My immediate guess is no, Missouri won't follow these states. But we all know how things like this work, this is exactly the type of thing a candidate put as a part of their platform in running for major office in Missouri or at the National level and could get a lot of support behind. Let's face it, there are a lot more hourly workers who benefit from this than there are small business owners who this negatively could affect.
What are your thoughts on this new law in Illinois, and should Missouri and other states follow? Comment away!